Perfect Running Conditions at the 12th Neujahrsmarathon

Dear runners,

The 12th Neujahrsmarathon Zurich took place under perfect, dry running conditions. The new record number of 979 runners from 47 different countries participated in this race which started with the very first second of the new year.

In the men’s race, David Jeker (CAN) finally won in 2:42:48 hours after a long fight with 2014 winner Philipp Arnold. The women’s race saw a well-known winner. Astrid Mueller (SUI) celebrated her 5th victory at the Neujahrsmarathon! She finished in 3:06:28 hours.

Marathon Men:
1. David Jeker CAN 2:42.48
2. Philipp Arnold SUI 2:46.32
3. Sean Fithpatrick GBR 2:51.36

Marathon Women:
1. Astrid Müller SUI 3:06.28
2. Bärbel Büschemann GER 3:28.30
3. Jenny Federhen GER 3:41.16

Half Marathon Men:
1. Samir Baala FRA 1:13:52

Half Marathon Women:
1. Odile Rein SUI 1:31:16

Quarter Marathon Men:
1. Pierre Fournier SUI 36:16

Quarter Marathon Women:
1. Lina-Kristin Schink GER 42:19

The full ranking list, the list of world best times of the year and pictures of the event are available online.

After this very successful start into the New Year, we wish all participants, volunteers and spectators a great 2016!

On behalf of the organizing committee,
Roger Kaufmann,
Race Director of the Neujahrsmarathon Zurich


Main sponsor
Ryffel Running by SportXX


Volunteers wanted

A big thank you to all those who have already registered as volunteers!Without you, the Neujahrsmarathon could not take place. We are grateful for further support:

Register as a volunteer